Mobile Learning: A 6th Reading List

Posted: October 14, 2012 in edushifts, mlearning, mobilelearning
Tags: ,

It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th list in this series of lists.  The other reading lists can be found by following the links provided at the end of this post.

1) Dispelling the Myths About 1:1 Environments: An Edutopia article outlining 5 myths about 1:1 environments and responses to the myths stemming from experiences with a 1:1 iPads and Google Apps for Education launches at an American High School;

2) Siri, Take This Down: Will Voice Control Shape Our Writing: This article from The Atlantic looks at how our technology has shaped our communication and how voice activation my be doing it again;

3) Being a Digital Native Isn’t Enough: This blog post argues that the idea of today’s children being digital native applies to the social uses of technology, not the academic uses.  We need to teach children how to use technology to learn;

4) Bring Your Own Device: A Guide for Schools: this support document comes from the Department of Education of the Province of Alberta and focuses on strategies in the implementation of BYOD in schools;

5) Mobile Phones in the Classroom – Teachers Share Tips: This article reports on different ways teachers are using mobile phones in teaching and learning;

6) Top Apps for Professional Development: A list of mobile apps divided into categories that teachers can use for their own self-directed professional development;

7) New Guide! Mobile Devices for Learning: What you Need to Know: This publication by edutopia supports the successful use of mobile devices in classrooms by providing ideas and resources ranging from using the technology to getting parents involved.  A free registration to edutopia is required to access the pdf;

8) The Teacher’s Guide to Digital Citizenship: A look at what a digital citizenship curriculum could look like.

Links to the other reading lists:

Mobile Learning: A Brief Reading List

Mobile Learning: Another Brief Reading List

Mobile Learning: A 3rd Reading List

Mobile Learning: A 4th Reading List

Mobile Learning: A 5th Reading List

Comments
  1. […] It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th l…  […]

  2. […] It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th list in this series of lists.  The other reading…  […]

  3. […] "It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th …"  […]

  4. […] It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th l…  […]

  5. […] It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th l…  […]

  6. […] It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th l…  […]

  7. […] It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th l…  […]

  8. […] It has been over one year since I last provided a list of recent articles/blog posts that I have read that have helped to develop my thinking on the topic of to mobile learning.  Below is the 6th l…  […]

Leave a Reply

