Leading Learning 2008: Pre-Conference Reflections

Posted: May 2, 2008 in Uncategorized

The Leading Learning 2008 Conference is just a few days away and I starting to get excited. I’m presenting once again this year but this time, I’m going solo. My presentation, titled Mobile Learning: Embracing Handheld Devices for Today’s Classroom will look at how digital handheld devices such as cell phones, iPods and PDA’s can be integrated into today’s classroom. While I had recorded a version of the presentation in VoiceThread several weeks ago, that recoding is obsolete as I’ve made a number of changes since then. I will make the slides available here and in SlideShare after the presentation.

In addition to my own presentation, I’m really looking forward to a couple of the presentations. In particular, I’m interested in listening to one of the keynotes: George Siemens. His keynote address is launching the conference Monday morning and is titled On Becoming: The Cognitive and Social Impact of Technology. I have heard George speak on a number of occasions and think that his presentations are both interesting and thought provoking. It will be interesting to see how Ontario educators receive his message. The other keynote address that I am looking forward to is also on Monday and will be presented by Ken Hudson. If I am not mistaken, his presentation, titled Educational Opportunities in Virtual Worlds will look at Second Life. While I have never heard Ken speak, I am interested in seeing how, in this world of distance education and instant access, virtual worlds can be used as a medium to immerse kids in learning environments impossible in the physical world.

Most of all, though, I am looking forward to the networking and the discussing visionary ideas with other educators. Often, conferences such as these provide us with the opportunity to escape the day-to-day grind that bogs us down and to think and discuss ideas on a grander scale. I hope to spark this conversation in my own presentation and to engage in it myself throughout the two days.

Comments
  1. Sounds great! Wish I was joining you – it’s been a couple of years since I attended Leading Learning. Any chance you’re going to UStream any of it?

  2. The thought had crossed my mind but I am not sure what the Internet connectivity will be like. If I can get someone to record the presentation, then I’ll place it in UStream.

Leave a Reply

