Reviewing 2009: Reflecting on this Blog, on PLN’s & on Using Web Tools

Posted: January 2, 2010 in edushifts, PLN, reflections

Before one can really look ahead, one must always remember to look back to where one has been. Therefore, when it comes to this blog, before I can think about where the discussion will go, I want to take a look at the key themes discussed in 2009.  The best way I can think of doing this was through a Wordle word cloud – here it is:

Interestingly, the two most used words were learning and students – terms referring to mobility and mobile devices come after that.  That’s the way it should be and I am pleased that I have continued to remember that education is ultimately  about students and student learning.

Here are a few statistical pieces concerning this weblog in 2009 (these were taken directly from WordPress.com – the platform I use for my blog):

  • This blog has had 23 000 hits since it’s inception in November 2007; 16,200 of them were in 2009 (70% of this blog’s total hits to date came in 2009!);
  • The most popular blog post this year was Twitter On The Go: Twitter on Mobile Phones (dated March 9, 2008); Mobile Learning: A Brief Reading List (dated January 19, 2009) was a close second;
  • This blog’s busiest day ever was on Monday August 17, 2009 which tells me that educators are still interested in learning during the summer – in fact, August 2009 was the second busiest month this blog has seen to date;
  • This blog had an average of 44 readers per day in 2009, more than double the 18 of 2008

While the numbers detailed above are not earth shattering by any means, what they represent is the ability of an average educator, through the use of web tools, to share his thoughts to a wider audience than those individuals within physical proximity. I would never have been able to discuss mobile learning with an average of 44 people per day for that past year if it were not for technology and social media.  What this also demonstrates is the power of the PLN.  I have noticed that as my Twitter PLN continues to expand, so does my hit count on my blog.  Lastly, I believe that the above represents an increased interest in the subject matter.  In November 2007, using mobile devices such as cell phones or iPods for learning was considered difficult and unorthodox.  In December 2009, there are many educators who are working to incorporate more mobility in their teaching and many more are talking about it.

Thanks to my Twitter PLN for connecting me with your ideas.  If you are not part of my Twitter PLN and would like to be, I’d love to connect with you.  My Twitter ID is rdelorenzo.

Comments
  1. I have just discovered your blog via Twitter – and am looking forward to reading your two most popular blog posts and a few more. Have just hit the subscribe button! I know that my online experiences would not be nearly as rich or varied if it weren’t for my Twitter PLN. I’ve been out of touch with the edublogosphere in 2009 and am now relying on my Twitter PLN to help get me up-to-date on what I’ve missed out on!

    • Thanks Jess for your interest. I find Twitter to be an important tool for keeping connected and up-to-date as well. RSS feeds (vis Google Reader) do this for me as well but with so much out there, I rely on others to filter for me just as I try to filter for others. Looking forward to connecting.

Leave a Reply

